The Department of Fine Arts was founded at the assembly meeting of Matica Srpska on the 31st of March 1963. All important events from the history of Serbian art as a whole have been the focus of the overall plan of the Department since the beginning.

The first Secretary General of the Department was Academician Dejan Medaković 1965-1986. From 1987 to 1999 Professor Miodrag Jovanović, PhD was the Secretary General, from 2000 to 2004 Professor Miroslav Timotijević, PhD and from mid-2004 until November 2005 Slobodan Mileusnić, PhD. In the year 2006, Professor Aleksandar Kadijević, PhD was elected and he still holds that post today. As a rule, Secretary Generals of the Department are editors of books and special editions.

The Department of Fine Arts is active in many fields including: scientific research activities, field work where the necessary material is collected along with photographs necessary for the realization of science projects, publishing activities, organization of scientific conferences, cultural activities and education.

Associate of the Department of Fine Arts is MA Vesna Gajić
Telephone: 021 6615-038

The Board of the Department of Fine Arts (named at a meeting of the Management Board on the 12th of October, 2016). Secretary General Vladimir Simić, PhD, Assistant


Igor Borozan. PhD, Assistant
Professor Dragan Vojvodić, PhD
Assistant Professor  Branka Vranešević, PhD
Kosta Vuković, MA, Curator, Szentendre
Professor Dubravka Đukanović, PhD
Associate Professor  Professor Jelena Erdeljan, PhD
Professor Aleksandar Kadijević, PhD
Miroslava Kostić, PhD, research fellow
Branka Kulić, PhD, Curator Consultant
Professor  Aleksandra Kučeković, PhD
Professor Nenad Makuljević, PhD
Professor Miodrag Marković, PhD
Professor Srđan Marković, PhD
Professor Lidija Merenik, PhD
Tijana Palkovljević Bugarski, PhD, Senior Curator
Danica Popović, PhD, Senior Research Fellow
Assistant Professor Nenad Radić, PhD
Milan Radujko, PhD, Research Fellow
Associate Professor Zoran Rakić, PhD
Professor Mirjana Roter Blagojević, PhD
Donka Stančić, consultant
Ljiljana Stošić, PhD, scientific advisor
Associate Professor Ivan Stevović, PhD
Danijela Korolija Crkvenjakov, PhD
Branko Čolović, PhD
Professor Simona Čupić, PhD
Professor Marica Šuput, PhD